Dad, Happy Father’s Day!

So, y’all know what this Sunday is, don’t ya?! It’s an important day…It’s Father’s Day! This post is dedicated to my Dad:

Dad, Happy Father’s Day!!

____________________________________

*(Originally posted @ Daily Provision on 6/14/08)

____________________________________

If you’ve ever met my dad, you probably remember him. You see, he’s never known a stranger…Dad is very friendly, outgoing, charismatic, and gregarious. He loves to talk, and he welcomes opportunities to converse with most anyone. Whereas Mom and I (I’m told I was more outgoing as a young child) might shrink back in groups of people and avoid talking to others, Dad purposely seeks out a good conversation. Communicating with others is like a passion of Dad’s, and it is something that often seems to energize him.

However, there is another form of communication that is a passion of Dad’s, and I can’t imagine my father without either. Music is the other way that Dad expresses himself and shares with others. My dad has played guitar since he was a kid, and his guitar is like an extension of himself.

Dad taught me how to sing, how to harmonize, and how to pluck a little on the guitar. Dad and I starting singing duets together when I was about 8 yrs. old. We sang together off and on for many years, and we still sing every once in a while, when we can get the time (life tends to be a little busier for me these days!)

Dad also taught me some very practical things. I’ve been target shooting and fishing with my dad.  I baited my first hook under Dad’s supervision (that experience served me well a month or so ago when I took the kids on a fishing field trip). Dad also taught me a couple of simple, yet vital things about maintaining a car. He told me to get the oil changed every 3,000 miles, and he showed me how to check the water, oil, and radiator levels. A couple of his tips once helped me continue to drive a Cavalier until it was 12 years old and had over 200,000 miles!

Concerning deeper things, such as spiritual matters, Dad was also there. When I was 9 yrs. old and went down to the altar at church, it was Dad who went with me. I knew I wanted to accept Jesus into my heart. Dad shared John 3:16 with me, and that was exactly what I needed. He prayed with me, and I prayed the prayer of salvation and was baptized soon after.

Thank you Dad for all you have taught me and shared with me. I love you, Dad! Happy Father’s Day!!

Leave a comment